Tags

, , , , , ,

What’ll you have? I want what he’s having.

“Arrange it,” they said, “so that we will be awarded the highest places of honor in your glory—one of us at your right, the other at your left.” Jesus said, “You have no idea what you’re asking. Are you capable of drinking the cup I drink, of being baptized in the baptism I’m about to be plunged into?” (Mark 10:37, 38 MSG)

My idea of glory is not the Lord’s idea of glory. My idea of blessing isn’t his either. Like the disciples, I often think God’s ways and purposes are like the world’s. Since I’m following him, shouldn’t I be honored and recognized for my good behavior? If that’s the way I’m thinking I have no idea what I’m asking.

If I really want to be in the same place as Jesus–beside him on his right or on his left–that means I’m ready to join him in his suffering. I’m willing to have what he’s having to drink, and it’s not what everyone else is having. God glorifies those who give themselves up by bringing them into his presence. Once I’m there the concerns of worldly blessing and well-being hold no weight and float away, no longer in focus.

The life of the disciple is more like the life of the athlete Paul describes as one willing to discipline his body in order to win the prize. Yet we don’t train alongside Christ for some earthly decoration or praise, but we put aside what others think is pleasurable for that which is truly rewarding. While others are weighing themselves down with the sweet delicacies that taste so good now, I’m keeping pace with the Leader. And the leader has thrown off anything that might slow him down.

What do I need to ask from God? I should ask to have what he’s having. I shouldn’t ask for what I want unless what I want is what he wants. So I want the same things which satisfy God. For that we have a model: Jesus said to love God with heart, soul, and mind and to love others as I love myself. When I place God and others first, I’m no longer concerned about where I am in line. The point of prayer is to align myself with his purposes, not convince him he should fulfill mine.