Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Like Peter I sometimes forget who told me to go out in the boat in the first place.

Jesus didn’t hesitate. He reached down and grabbed his hand. Then he said, “Faint-heart, what got into you?” (Matthew 14:31 MSG)Facing challenges

Jesus often gives the answer when he asks to see if I am paying attention. He’s not asking because he doesn’t know the answer. He asks because he is the answer. Nothing ever surprises God. When God asks, “Where are you?” it is not for his benefit but mine to discover where I am in relation to him. (cf. Genesis 3:9)

Jesus wants to know if I am learning anything when I grow faint of heart. Like Peter I have charged out in confidence looking straight at Jesus, only to take my eyes off course because of the waves around me. Jesus is calling me despite the waves to come to him. Haven’t I learned from experience he will see me through? Or am I going to lose heart this time? What got into me?

What gets into me is thinking like the world, as though Jesus isn’t walking with me through the waves. The worldly step into the breakers and either depend on their own strength or turn back in fear. Why would I want to depend on my own ability to withstand the currents when I have the Almighty? Why would I cower in fear when I am with the Most High?

Like Peter I sometimes forget who told me to go out in the first place. Jesus was the one who told the disciples to get in the boat to go to the other side (14:22-23). He knew what they would face and was there to see them finish the journey. Peter’s dilemma came about because of his impetuous nature. Jesus put Peter in the boat and was headed his way. Sometimes I need more faith to stay the course in the boat I’m in than to jump ship in an ill-conceived attempt at the heroic. Others may applaud the bravery, but the plan was to trust Jesus from the beginning.

Why was Peter in trouble? Because he didn’t pay attention the first time when Jesus said to those in the boat, “Courage, it’s me. Don’t be afraid.” (14:27) Instead, Peter expressed doubt, saying, “Master, if it’s really you, call me to come to you on the water.” (14:28) Jesus will meet me at my point of doubt, but he has already identified himself and assured me there’s no need for fear.

My need is to listen intently the first time Jesus tells me something. If he has to come asking me questions, then I have undoubtedly struck out on my own on a path he did not mark for me.

The reason Jesus climbed the mountain to spend the night alone in prayer (14:23) was to know and share his mind with the Father. The better model in this passage is the preparation of Jesus, who set out at 4am for a walk across the water, than the unprepared, unthinking, doubtful Peter who couldn’t make it two steps without sinking. Better that I get up a little early to talk with God before I set out than to step out and have to cry save me from myself each day.