Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Do actions really speak louder than words? Maybe you just don’t have much to say.

“This is war, and there is no neutral ground. If you’re not on my side, you’re the enemy; if you’re not helping, you’re making things worse. “If you grow a healthy tree, you’ll pick healthy fruit. If you grow a diseased tree, you’ll pick worm-eaten fruit. The fruit tells you about the tree. “You have minds like a snake pit! How do you suppose what you say is worth anything when you are so foul-minded? It’s your heart, not the dictionary, that gives meaning to your words. A good person produces good deeds and words season after season. An evil person is a blight on the orchard. Let me tell you something: Every one of these careless words is going to come back to haunt you. There will be a time of Reckoning. Words are powerful; take them seriously. Words can be your salvation. Words can also be your damnation.” (Matthew 12:30, 33-37 MSG)

Actions don’t speak louder than words. What I say and do both come from my state of mind and heart. Follow anyone very long and you’ll find actions and words send the same message.

The funny thing is those who say “Actions speak louder than words” or who like to quote St. Francis of Assisi, “Preach the gospel at all times. Use words if necessary.” are themselves using words in an attempt to persuade. While no one likes hypocrisy, the greater inconsistency is to make believe speaking is not an action. Not speaking when needed is just as much inaction as anything else I can or cannot do with the rest of my body. I am not expected to pantomime my way through life.

Those who believe actions alone are enough have lofty opinions of their lifestyles. If I believe by example alone others will see Christ or I’ve done my Christian duty, I mislead myself. First, I am not following the example of Christ himself. Imagine if Christ only lived a good life but said nothing of his purpose? Second, were it even possible to lead a good life with no motive to share with others the reason why, I’d only draw attention to myself. The most to be gained is for others to say, “Oh what a good person he is.” That draws attention to me not Christ. Third, Jesus says in this passage that one who is good in his sight produces good deeds and words season after season. The two can’t be separated. The use of the tongue represents one’s heart and is a tool of action. Fourth, and most importantly, what I say comes from who I am. I, like everyone else, talk about what is important to me. My heart determines the content and meaning of my words. If I say nothing of who Jesus is and what he has done in my life, you can rest assured he is of little importance.

Wars have started with words. Marriages succeed or fail because of words said and not said. Instruction of every discipline is based on words. I shouldn’t fool myself into thinking what I say isn’t important. Jesus says, “Words are powerful; take them seriously. Words can be your salvation. Words can also be your damnation.”  To that end, I must begin each day committing myself to be sensitive to the Spirit for every word I say. I must think ahead to who I will encounter today to prepare the right words. Who today needs encouragement? I find when I take that perspective my actions match my words, which is what Christ calls for in the day of reckoning.